Fall 2005 Seminars

Seminars are held in Jack Baskin Engineering 330, from 12-1 PM, unless noted otherwise.

Tuesday, September 27, 2005

"Arsenic Metabolism in Microbes: From Genes to Geochemistry"
Chad Saltikov, Environmental Toxicology Department, UC Santa Cruz

Tuesday, October 4, 2005

"Decoding Calcium Signals in Model Plant Arabidopsis"
Sheng Luan, Plant and Microbial Biology, UC Berkeley

Tuesday, October 11, 2005

"Stucture, Function, and Assembly of a Drug Transporter"
Parjit Kaur, Department of Biology, Georgia State University

Tuesday, October 18, 2005    Re-Scheduled for March 14, 2006

"Biofilm Structure Quantification"
Haluk Beyenal, Center for Biofilm Engineering, Montana State University, Bozeman, MT

Tuesday, October 25, 2005

"Implications of Sub-lethal Contaminant Exposure of the Early Life Stages of Striped Bass (Morone saxatilis): Emphasis on Maternal Transfer of Xenobiotics"
David J. Ostrach, Pathology, Microbiology & Immunology, UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine

Tuesday, November 1, 2005

TBA

Tuesday, November 8, 2005

"Bacterial Degradation of Nitroaromatic Pollutants"
Becky Parales, Microbiology Department, UC Davis

Tuesday, November 15, 2005

"Novel Bacterial Sensory Transduction Protein Domains: From Sequence to Biology"
Mark Gomelsky, Molecular Biology Department, University of Wyoming

Tuesday, November 22, 2005

"The Roles of Copper and Iron Homeostatsis in Cell Biology"
Xiaoli Shi, Environmental Toxicology Department, UC Santa Cruz
PhD Thesis Seminar

Tuesday, November 29, 2005

"Manganese Targets m-aconitase and Iron Regulation in AF5 GABAergic Neural Cells"
Dan Crooks, Environmental Toxicology Department, UC Santa Cruz
MS Thesis Seminar