Incoming Students

Welcoming Students
Welcome incoming class of 2013! Click here to get all the information and links you need to help you transition into your new life at UC Santa Cruz.

Cross-Cutting Research

Researchers in the Department of Microbiology and Environmental Toxicology at U.C. Santa Cruz seek to understand how harmful pathogens and chemicals interact with the environment and damage humans and animals. The department has two main research foci: microbiology, and environmental health and toxicology. [More]

Our Faculty

Assistant Professor Vicki Auerbuch StoneProfessor Karen OttemannProfessor Fitnat YildizCover image from the Journal of Bacteriology from the Yildiz labProfessor Russ FlegalCover image on the cover of the journal Microbiology by the Ottemann lab.Associate Professor Chad SaltikovProfessor Don SmithAssistant Professor Manel Camps

Visitor Information

Prospective Students

The Fall 2014 application period is now open. Ph.D. and M.S. training in METX prepares students to solve important problems in the field of environmental health by providing stimulating coursework, extensive scientific presentation training, and in-depth research. [More]